Tanglewood Pre-Concert Lectures

Once again Jeremy Yudkin, Chair and Professor of Musicology at Boston University, will be doing Pre-Concert lectures at the Lenox Library.  All lectures take place in the Lenox Library, Fridays and Saturdays 2:30-4 pm.  $40 per weekend, $25 per day.  The Library is located on Main Street a short walk from Brook Farm Inn, our Lenox MA bed and breakfast.

For reservations, email YudkinJaf@gmail.com.

 Here is the schedule:

Weekend 1 (Opening Weekend)

Friday, July 8 The Berlioz Requiem.  400 People!                      

 4 Offstage Brass Ensembles! Magnifique! 

Saturday, July 9 Joshua Bell Sings a Violin Fantasy; 

Tchaikovsky Weeps (the Sixth Symphony)

Weekend 2

Friday, July 15 Dvorak’s Greatest Work (The Cello 

Concerto) and Schumann’s “Spring” Symphony

Saturday, July 16 A True Original: Sibelius, the 

“Granite Man” of Finland with a Tender Soul 

Weekend 3

Friday, July 22 On One Program: The Two Greatest       

       Masterpieces of Beethoven and Brahms

Saturday, July 23 Who WAS Ravel?  The Composer of

Boléro or a Jazz Pianist? 

Weekend 4

Friday, July 29 “A Transforming Experience”: Mahler’s 

Fifth Symphony is HUGE!

Saturday, July 30 A Case of Daylight Robbery: Brahms’s 

Fourth Symphony 

Weekend 5

Friday, August 5 Classic Restraint, Romantic Angst: 

Beethoven vs. Rachmaninoff and Strauss

Saturday, August 6 Mendelssohn’s Exquisite Violin 

Concerto and Rachmaninoff’s Mysterious Second Symphony (“Never Gonna Fall In Love Again”)

Weekend 6

Friday, August 12 “The Spanish Flair”: Carmen

Rodrigo (both Classical and Jazz), Falla, and Granados

Saturday, August 13 Yo Yo Ma Channels Schumann, 

and Brahms Escapes from Beethoven (Finally)

Weekend 7

Friday, August 19 The Real Story behind Beethoven’s

Eroica Symphony

Saturday, August 20 What Is It Exactly that Makes 

       Mozart Unique? 

Weekend 8

Friday, August 26 “The Great American Opera” – 

Gershwin’s Porgy and Bess

Saturday, August 27 All Beethoven, All the Time: His 

Symphonies 1, 5, and 9

 

Tags: , , ,

Comments are closed.

»