Tanglewood Pre-Concert Lecture Series

JEREMY YUDKIN’S


TANGLEWOOD



PRE-CONCERT LECTURE SERIES


A short walk from Brook Farm Inn!


“The best teacher on any subject I’ve ever had!”

“Jeremy turns the BSO’s concerts into almost spiritual experiences”

“Informative and entertaining”

“He makes the Tanglewood concerts come alive!”

2010 LECTURE SEASON

THE LENOX LIBRARY ASSOCIATION

ALL LECTURES TAKE PLACE ON FRIDAY AND SATURDAY AFTERNOONS FROM 2:30 TO 4 AT THE WELLES GALLERY, LENOX LIBRARY, 18 MAIN STREET, LENOX, MA

$25 PER DAY, $40 FOR THE WEEKEND

SEASON PASS $245

(SEASON PASS ENTITLES YOU TO 20% DISCOUNT ON TANGLEWOOD TICKETS!)

Saturday, July 3 Free and open to the public.

THE PROFESSOR’S PICKS OF THE TANGLEWOOD SEASON

Friday, July 9

OPENING NIGHT AT TANGLEWOOD: MAHLER’S MAGNIFICENT NO. 2

Saturday, July 10

BEETHOVEN’S FIFTH SYMPHONY AND THIRD PIANO CONCERTO: THE SECRETS OF WHAT MAKES THEM GREAT

Friday, July 16

MOZART’S REQUIEM: HIS LAST GREAT WORK. BUT WHO WAS IT WRITTEN FOR?

Saturday, July 17

MUSIC FOR THE CREATION OF THE WORLD: THE GREAT MAHLER THIRD SYMPHONY

Friday, July 23

MOZART’S WONDERFUL COMIC OPERA: THE ABDUCTION FROM THE SERAGLIO

Saturday, July 24

ALL BRAHMS: THE FIRST PIANO CONCERTO AND THE SECOND SYMPHONY

Friday, July 30

THE RUSSIANS ARE COMING!: TCHAIKOVSKY, PROKOFIEV, AND GLINKA

Saturday, July 31

RICHARD STRAUSS AND HIS GREATEST MASTERPIECE: THE FOUR LAST SONGS, PLUS ELGAR’S GORGEOUS CELLO CONCERTO

Friday, August 6

TCHAIKOVSKY’S SIXTH SYMPHONY (“PATHÉTIQUE”), TOGETHER WITH MENDELSSOHN AND MOZART

Saturday, August 7

TWO VIOLIN CONCERTOS, TWO VIOLINISTS, TWO COMPOSERS: BEETHOVEN AND SIBELIUS

Friday, August 13

MUSIC FOR THE INCAS: ROBLES, FRANK, AND GOLIJOV

Saturday, August 14

A LITTLE JAZZ MUSIC: CONCERT JAZZ BY GERSHWIN, BERNSTEIN, AND SCHULLER

Friday, August 20

MOZART, MORLOT, AND MOTHER GOOSE!

Saturday, August 21

A MIDSUMMER NIGHT’S DREAM: BEETHOVEN AND MENDELSSOHN

Friday, August 27

MUSIC OF THE SPHERES: HOLST’S THE PLANETS

Saturday, August 28

MUSIC FROM THE NEW WORLD: DVORAK’S “NEW WORLD” SYMPHONY

TO SIGN UP, E-MAIL: yudkinjaf@gmail.com

Or send a check to:

Pre-Concert Lectures, POBOX 2007, Lenox MA, 01240

Jeremy Yudkin has been teaching at Tanglewood every summer since 1983. He is Professor of Music at Boston and Oxford universities, and his interests are wide and varied, including everything from medieval music to Bartok and the Beatles. Jeremy has written 8 books: on medieval music and manuscripts, on a sixteenth-century music primer, and on jazz. His most recent publications include The Lenox School of Jazz and Miles Smiles, Miles Davis, and the Invention of Post Bop. He is also the author of one of the most successful music-appreciation textbooks. It is entitled simply Understanding Music. Helping all people understand music is one of his greatest passions.

He founded the Pre-Concert Lecture Series to create a place for music listeners to learn. Every year his lectures illuminate all the concerts played at Tanglewood. He is a compelling, lively, and friendly speaker. No musical expertise required!

Tags: ,

Comments are closed.

»